5 cheap and easy anti-aging tips.

calories-in-watermelon

Lycopene, contained in watermelon, has surprising anti-aging benefits.

 

I posted a pic of myself using a “detoxifying” face mask the other day and got a few responses asking a) how it worked and b) what I use on my skin. To answer the first, I didn’t really notice a difference after using the mask. Maybe I will after a few uses but nothing immediate. I’ve gotten better more immediate results with other products I’ve used, one being Manuka Honey. The mask I’ve been using is actually sold pretty inexpensively at Walmart.

Here are some other easy and affordable ways to prevent and decrease the signs of aging:

  1. Lycopene. Wearing an SPF is the #1 way to prevent aging, but did you know you can actually improve your body’s natural defense against harmful UV rays through diet? Lycopene is the skins natural sunblock and is contained in tomatoes, watermelon, red peppers and any other fruit and vegetables with a red/ orange tint. Another good source is found in green tea which also contains caffeine proven to reduce your risk of skin cancer. Eating these nutrient rich foods can increase your skins natural defense from the sun by 33%.
  2. Hydrate. Drinking at least 64 oz. of water a day is recommended for both dietary purposes and preventing the look of fine lines. You should also be incorporating a good  topical moisturizer, I like to mix it up in this department and am currently using a product by Clarins. What do you recommend?
  3. Sleep. This is probably my favorite. Especially as we get older, it’s important to get your 8 hours of sleep. It cuts down on craving junk food (another habit that increases the look of wrinkles and lines) and as you sleep your skin has a chance to repair itself boosting cellular growth and production.
  4. Cleanse. Always remove your make-up! I’m not the best at this, especially after a long day with the kids. But I’m inspired to cleanse my face every night after reading that leaving cosmetics on your face increases the size of your pores. I suggest using cleansing towelletes, I like the ones from Burt’s Bees and a gel, I’m using one by Bliss that doubles as an exfoliator.
  5. Exercise. Another favorite of mine, get moving! This increases cellular regeneration and the release of compounds that prevent cell death.

Do you have any suggestions you can share with us?

xo,

Hilary

 

 

Leave a Reply

