Things that surprised me about pregnancy.

image

My third son Tommy is going to be 10 months old in a few days, I can’t believe how fast the time has flown and that I was pregnant with that little nugget not even a year ago.

I’ve been reflecting on pregnancy lately and what an extraordinary experience it is. I’ve also been thinking about all the things I didn’t know about being pregnant until I actually went through it. I didn’t know much, and anything I thought I knew about came from movies and television shows which pretty much get it all wrong. If this is your first go round with this crazy, exhausting and incredibly special experience, here are a few things that may surprise you.

  1. Morning sickness, or for many women all day sickness, usually lasts only the first trimester and many women don’t get sick at all.
  2. Fatigue is many women’s worst complaint. I was so tired during my first pregnancy I would go into the bathroom at my job, lay my head on the toilet paper roll and sleep during my lunch breaks.
  3. Your baby bump won’t come in until about 5 months so don’t rush out to buy maternity clothes.
  4. Everyone wants to tell you their horror story about pregnancy and delivery. Don’t listen to them, everyone’s experience is different and you need to ignore the negative talk. Going into delivery with a good attitude is so important and you’ll get through it with the help of some great doctors, nurses and family members at your side.
  5. Watch what you eat. I thought pregnancy was a license to eat whatever I wanted. Turns out our bodies need to make 2 to 3 times the amount of insulin it takes to properly digest sugar than when we’re not pregnant making you susceptible to gestational diabetes. This goes away after pregnancy but come with many risks such as a very large newborn.
  6. Contractions feel like menstrual cramps and don’t start off that painful.
  7. Labor pains can start weeks in advance to actual labor and delivery. These can get quite annoying and even keep you up at night.
  8. It’s very unlikely that your water will break in public. I thought it was like the movies, a women screams that her water has broken and they rush her to the hospital. Not so much. You will likely be in labor for some time and be at the hospital before your water breaks.
  9. Core muscles push the baby out so do your planks!
  10. Recovering after delivery. No one tells you that you can’t do much walking and have to wear maxi pads the size of Texas for weeks after giving birth. I guess it should be sort of obvious that pushing a small human out of that tiny orifice would cause some bleeding but I didn’t know this until it happened. You can’t do much for two weeks in order for the wounds to heal and even then you need to be careful or they could open again. So take your time, I know it’s hard if you’re normally very active. By six weeks you should get the go ahead by your doctor to workout like normal again.
  11. The duration of pregnancy is 10 months not 9.
  12. Last but not least, I didn’t expect to feel as beautiful as I did and my husband  ensured that I felt beautiful by telling me that every day.

What about pregnancy surprised you most (bad or good)?

Thanks for stopping by!

xo,

Hilary

2 thoughts on “Things that surprised me about pregnancy.

  1. Gestational Diabetes can happen to anyone! I thought I ate so healthy and had to make some changes along the way that were even better for my body.

    • You’re right anyone can get it and I shouldn’t have been ashamed of getting diagnosed but I was. Like you, I thought I was pretty healthy, but it honestly was a good wake up call for me and it taught me a lot about being healthier and how important it is to count carbs and get the right kind of carbs are in your diet.

Leave a Reply

