The diet of the ultimate couple.

tomandgisele

The Super Bowl is this weekend. “Thanks captain obvious!”, you’re saying to yourself. I bring it up, just like everyone else in America, because today I’m talking about the man of the hour, Tom Brady. Love um or hate um, he’s in amazing physical condition, especially for a 39 year old athlete who’s been going hard on the football field for over half his life. So how does he do it? His diet has been subject to both awe and criticism. But whatever he’s eating, it’s working for both him and his beautiful wife, Gisele. So let’s take a closer look at their healthy habits.

This was taken from an interview with his personal Chef, Allen Campbell, on Boston.com:

What Brady does eat:

80 percent of what they eat is vegetables. [I buy] the freshest vegetables. If it’s not organic, I don’t use it. And whole grains: brown rice, quinoa, millet, beans. The other 20 percent is lean meats: grass-fed organic steak, duck every now and then, and chicken. As for fish, I mostly cook wild salmon.

What Brady doesn’t eat:

No white sugar. No white flour. No MSG. I’ll use raw olive oil, but I never cook with olive oil. I only cook with coconut oil. Fats like canola oil turn into trans fats. … I use Himalayan pink salt as the sodium. I never use iodized salt.
[Tom] doesn’t eat nightshades, because they’re not anti-inflammatory. So no tomatoes, peppers, mushrooms, or eggplants. Tomatoes trickle in every now and then, but just maybe once a month. I’m very cautious about tomatoes. They cause inflammation.

A lot of people like to hate on Tom’s diet. Obviously they’re just jealous because the guy is definitely doing something right. He’s up for his fifth Super Bowl ring after all!

My take on it is that it is very strict, and there’s no way I could abide by this diet. But, when people ask me what to eat I always tell them vegetables,  lean protein (like chicken and fish) and whole grains (like brown rice), which pretty much sums up Tom and Gisele’s nutrition plan. I do think cutting out “nightshades” like tomatoes, is going too far. Tomatoes, for example, are very good for you. Think about adding anti-inflammatory spices to your meal to reduce those affects.

What’s your take on it? Would you give this diet a try?

xo,

Hil

Leave a Reply

