My top five embarrassing gym moments.

I had an experience at the resort gym that inspired me to write this post. There were no  machines that looked familiar other than the treadmill and I didn’t feel like jogging. I carefully chose one that looked the most familiar hoping I could figure it out pretty quickly and avoid embarrassing myself. This didn’t go so well.

First, I had a hard time getting situated on the machine, stumbling to get my feet into proper placement. Second, this was a machine that looked like an elliptical however I was unsure if it behaved like one. Are my legs going in a circle, front and back or side to side?? WTF! It took me longer then I hoped to figure it out and I don’t know if I was ever really doing it properly, but after an embarrassing few minutes was able to feign confidence like I had it down.

This experience got me thinking about everyone out there who has similar moments at the gym and is therefore anxious and even turned off by the thought of going. I’ve been going to some sort of gym for over 20 years now and I still have embarrassing moments and feel anxious  when I’m at a new fitness facility. However, I understand that if you’re new to exercise and a gym membership it’s all the more daunting.

Here are my top 5 most embarrassing gym moments to help you feel a little better about yourself and hopefully give you more confidence to hit the gym more often. The more you go the more confidence you will get.

  1. Back when treadmills didn’t automatically slow down, upon hitting the stop button I went flying forward and hit my face on the front panel.

  2. At a swim meet in high school, instead of a graceful swan dive into the pool I performed, what felt like was a cataclysmic belly-flop.
  3. I dropped a dumbbell on someone,s foot.
  4. Using the ab machine that requires you to hang upside down at an angle, I couldn’t figure out how to get off and instead of a smooth dismount, fell to the side and somehow tumbled in the process.
  5. I’m the gal that’s always going the opposite direction as everyone else in the same class. Whether it’s aerobics, kick boxing or Zumba, you name it. I have zero coordination.

I’ll end by saying that a good way to relieve gym anxiety is to either go with a friend that knows what they’re doing and can show you the ropes; or have one of the trainers show you around the facility and give you a tutorial on how to use the machines. Whatever you do DON’T GIVE UP! It’ll get easier.

Do you have an embarrassing gym moment you can share with us?

Thanks for reading!

xo,

Hil

http://classic.avantlink.com/affiliate_app_confirm.php?mode=js&authResponse=60d1ecee82c2417ff93fd9e7a881af321509c500

Leave a Reply

