Exercising while pregnant.

The last thing I’ve wanted to do since the first few months into this pregnancy is workout. I have been so tired, uncomfortable and overall not feeling well this entire pregnancy. I’m not expecting sympathy by telling you this, I simply want to give you my experience in case you may be feeling the same way. It’s hard to feel this way when you are used to being pretty active and fit.

I’m nearing the end, about a month to go. I’ve gotten a little of my energy and motivation back and trying to take advantage of that and get some exercise in. I know whatever I can do will help me feel better right not, make it easier to get back into shape post partum and give me a little more strength in the delivery room.

When it comes to working out during pregnancy, simply try your best and do what you can. Don’t feel bad if you need some time off from the gym. The baby is taking a lot of energy out of you at this time so if you’re body is telling you to take it easy, pay attention to it and don’t force it.

Here are some safe exercises you can do while your pregnant. I suggest walking or doing the elliptical machine for cardio. Low impact comfortable workouts are effective and feel the best on your joints. Plus they cause less cramping than high impact cardio.

Abdominals and core.

1)Planks are a great way to tone your entire body. Plus they are a great exercise in preparation for labor. They are the best at strengthening your abdominal floor and you may notice force you into a kegel.

Regular plank:

image

Legs and butt.

1) Squats.

image

2) Lunges.

image

Arms. One thing you can really work while your pregnancy are your arms. We often talk about toning our abs and legs but our arms are just as, if not more, important. Having sleek, toned arms makes you look and feel fit. Plus they are one of the most exposed parts of our bodies! I don’t know about you but I’m not wearing any midriff baring shirts these days.

Here are two of the best exercises you can do for your arms.

1) Bicep curls.

image

2)Triceps extensions.

image

What exercised can you add to this list?

Thanks for reading.

xoxo,

Hil

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

