Motivation is what gets you started, habit is what keeps you going…

 

 

 

I wasn’t able to get to the gym yesterday, despite my best efforts of scheduling the kids at the gym daycare, getting bundled up to face the sub zero temperatures and even picking up my neighbors kids (I watch them twice a week) to head over there. When we finally got to heading up the street in the direction of the gym I had a crying child at my side and one screaming “I don’t want to go!!”.  I knew it wasn’t meant to be. And I got a little frustrated naturally, but then I thought “Ok now’s not the time, when can I get a workout in? If not today then tomorrow?”

This thought process is something that happen very naturally with me as working out is a habit of mine. It’s something I know I have to do to keep fit but also feel my best. I’m lucky because I started this habit at a very young age, I have always worked out at least a few times a week. This habit has stayed with me and gotten stronger over the years as I’ve learned how important it is to living a good, healthy and yes, happy lifestyle.

Don’t Fall Off the Wagon

Giving up on working out is something a friend of mine at my last job used to call “falling off the wagon”, which I think is very appropriate and funny. Sometimes things come up or I’m just plain old too tired to workout. This could be for a day or two or sometimes almost a week, but I never give up! I know I’m getting back to my normal workout routine eventually. This is because I’m aware that I need this in my life, it’s ingrained in me.

Creating this habit requires adjusting your thought pattern to think of when and where you can get in a workout.This will happen with time, they say it takes 28 days to form a habit right? So I want you to think about when and where you are going to workout every day for the next 28 days. If you can’t get to the gym have something you can do at home. That’s part of why the HIIT workout I have you doing this week is great, you can do it anywhere. I love finding new, fun ways to workout at home. Jumping rope is great exercise and jump ropes are super cheap, hula hoops are another fun way and the kids love them. If you have the money invest in an exercise machine.

Obviously I don’t want you to just think about working out but actually doing it, but if it’s on your mind you are more like to do it then if not.

Xx,

Hilary Ann Lambert

 

Leave a Reply

