Interview with fitness trainer Cheryl Chandler of Fitness Unlimited…

Fitness Unlimited

I had the great opportunity of asking an experienced fitness trainer, with a great track record of helping clients achieve their fitness goals, a few questions about how she stays fit and helps others to do the same…

Cheryl Chandler, Personal Trainer at Fitness Unlimited in East Milton Square

1) First off, tell us a little about yourself and how you got your start as a fitness trainer?

I am a personal trainer and work at Fitness Unlimited, an all women’s gym in Milton, MA.

I’ve been involved with the health and fitness industry for over 20 years. I’ve always really enjoyed working out and like to help people incorporate working out into their daily routine. Help them get to a point where they realize how important it is to live a healthy lifestyle of working out and eating healthy. I ask my clients to work hard so it’s up to me to do the same. It helps motivate them when we do it together.

2) What is your favorite part of the job?

My favorite part of the job is seeing my clients succeed, reach their goals and feel better.  Start to believe in themselves. 

3) Do you have suggestions for simple ways to live a healthier lifestyle, whether it be through diet or exercise?

Living a healthy lifestyle is a commitment to both exercise and diet. Diet is very important. I encourage my clients to eat well, make good food choices, count calories if their goal is to lose weight, stay away from fried food and eat at least 3 meals a day. Don’t starve yourself and don’t skip meals especially breakfast. It’s so important to fuel your body. You can’t get through a workout without fuel! Don’t forget to drink plenty of water.

4) For those who can’t afford a gym membership, what’s a good tip to get a workout in without all the fancy equipment?

Joining a gym is so important in ones journey to maintain a healthy lifestyle but if that’s not possible there are many ways to get in shape. For example body weight exercises are very effective and can be done anywhere…squats, push-ups, crunches and planks. Add cardio to your workout with jumping jacks, jump squats and burpees. These exercises really get your heart rate up and aid you in maximizing fat and calorie burn. There are so many exercises that can be done without equipment. Go for a walk, park farther away from your destination, house and yard work!

5) Was there a notable experience as a trainer that made you realize that what you do is really special and life changing for those you work with?

The best part of the job is being a part of someone’s success.  Coaching a client and sticking with them.  I helped a client reach her goal of losing 100lbs! What an accomplishment. She worked and continues to work hard. I enjoyed helping her get there and am honored that we are still working together to keep the weight off.   Having a client say thank you for pushing me, or I finished the road race, my knee feels better, I walked up the stairs today instead of taking the elevator I feel stronger and healthier! 

6) What’s your go to exercise to stay in tip top shape?

Burpees are my go to exercise. They are a total body exercise and they are really hard. No one likes to do them but they are effective.

7) What’s THE fitness trend for 2013?

Small group personal training is a big trend for 2013. Share an hour or ½ hour of training with up to 10 people.  Work together, motivate and encourage each other.  It’s affordable and it’s fun.  I offer several small group training classes at Fitness Unlimited. 

To learn more about Fitness Unlimited and their personal training packages check out the web site by clicking here.

Thanks so much Cheryl for taking the time to answer these questions! I’m motivated to go do some burpees now! If you’re not sure what burpees are, here’s a short demonstration…

2 thoughts on “Interview with fitness trainer Cheryl Chandler of Fitness Unlimited…

  1. I wanted to practice what I preach today and since I had never actually done one of Cheryl’s workouts, I gave it a try today at her Head to Toe class that meets at 10:30 am on Wednesdays. I’m definitely going to be taking a motrin before bed tonight cuz I will be sore in the morning! Well worth it though! I love the pain of a really good workout. Thanks Cheryl.

  2. Such a great and informative post. This is really helpful for people who wants to achieve a perfect and healthy body. It’s a great news that a person will hire a fitness trainer which has a good and enough experience about fitness training.

Leave a Reply

