Weekend Wisdom: Internalizing is bad for your health…

I tend to internalize a lot of thoughts and feelings. When I’m upset about something I don’t speak up until I get so upset I’m not just irritated anymore I’m angry. I’m getting better about speaking my mind when something is wrong and it’s always an incredible release when I do. I find that when I talk things out with someone I tend to realize that the things that I have built up in my head to be such a problem are really quite inconsequential. I also find that when I talk things out, I figure out better ways of handling my problems rather than stewing and making them bigger in my head.

The biggest consequence of internalizing behavior is that it causes stress, anxiety and quite frankly, it’s just distracting and diminishes how productive you are in everyday activities.  It’s important to find healthy ways of coping with stress and anxiety as they often lead to mental and physical illnesses, such as depression, panic attacks, headaches and stomach problems.

How does stress, anxiety and depression affect your health?

“Stress that continues without relief can lead to a condition called distress — a negative stress reaction. Distress can disturb the body’s internal balance or equilibrium, leading to physical symptoms such as headaches, an upset stomach, elevated blood pressure, chest pain, sexual dysfunction, and problems sleeping. Emotional problems can also result from distress. These problems include depression, panic attacks, or other forms of anxiety and worry. Research shows that stress also can bring on or worsen certain symptoms or diseases. Stress is linked to six of the leading causes of death: heart diseasecancer, lung ailments, accidents, cirrhosis of the liver, and even suicide.”

Reference: WebMD, Depression Health Center

How do you relieve anxiety and stress?

Thanks for reading. Until next time, stay strong, beautiful and well.

xo,

Hil

 

 

Leave a Reply

