Obsessed with Skinny

Mantra Mondays: I will love my body!

I just weighed myself for the first time in a few weeks, I’m about 8 lbs. away from my pre-pregnancy weight. The question is, how hard do I try to lose the extra pounds? I feel pretty good the way I am and truth be told, I feel a little more sexy with an extra few pounds on me. But then the societal obsession of being “skinny” (combined with wanting to fit into my old clothes)  creeps in and I’m on a mission.

“You can never be too rich or too thin.”; Wallis Warfield Simpson, Duchess of Windsor (no wonder so many “waifs” come from the UK). I take issue with both of these assumptions made by Mrs. Windsor, but I’ll just be talking about the latter and perhaps attack the former at some point in the near future.

Striving to fit into the category of “skinny” seems to be a societal epidemic, which I have admittedly taken part in.  In the past I have found that I’m at my skinniest when I’m the least emotionally stable and happy. That’s because I tend not to eat when I’m stressed out, anxious and depressed. And the craziest part of it all is that I used to think that this was when I looked my best. So I felt the most beautiful and loved my body the most when I was a completely unhappy, lunatic. Totally backward logic. But it’s hard to avoid feeling this way when we’re in a skinny driven society, models weigh close to nothing, there are copious amounts of diets, workout plans, pills and powders promising a skinnier you. And then the “skinny” branding that seems to be everywhere these days. They all cater to the idea that to be  “skinny” is to be fabulous. Skinny Girl Cocktails, The Skinny Bitch Diet, Skinny Jeans, Skinny Water, Skinny Cow Ice Cream and the list goes on…

Skinny Girl

It’s great what Bethany Frankel has accomplished. It seems as though she has worked very hard and launching the Skinny Girl brand has made her quite successful. And I do love and support female entrepreneurs, when they really work at it. But, what exactly does this brand represent? I don’t drink anymore, so I don’t know if this product is actually any good (if you have tried any of these drinks I’d love to hear your opinion, good or bad). But, it seems to me like there are many people out there who will purchase a “Skinny Girl” cocktail simply because they feed into the idea of thinner is better, and if you drink it you are a true skinny girl. Is this a healthy idea to convey? I don’t think it’s Mrs. Frankel’s job to monitor why people are so attracted to her brand and if it’s a healthy idea she is portraying (although she should). But I do think that we as the consumer should consider these things.  I have, and my personal opinion is that this brand feeds into a societal epidemic that is actually quite unhealthy. Take for instance the Skinny Bitch diet, created by 2 former models (go figure!) that promises to give you the skinny body of your dreams by basically bitch slapping you into it. This diet didn’t even become popular until Victoria “Posh Spice” Beckham was photographed holding a copy of the book in a store in L.A. Because even the skinniest woman on the planet (I think she’s basically just made of implants at this point) needs to go on a diet. The world has gone mad!

I’ll end by saying that your body will be in constant change throughout your life, so love and take care of it. Don’t strive to be “skinny” strive to be HEALTHY. As long as you are doing this you should be confident and happy with who you are and how you look  at this moment.
Would love to hear from you on this subject. What do you think of the “skinny” phenomenon?
xo,
Hil

6 thoughts on “Obsessed with Skinny

  1. I am so happy to have found a blog i can seriously trust with something like this! I am always getting bombarded with all of these diet drinks, foods, vitamins, blah blah, and even the Prevention magazines all change what we should be doing each month! It drives me crazy!!
    I would much rather take advice from a real person, and especially a mom:)
    I have RSD in both legs, feet, and ankles, and it is starting to spread into my back, I have a very hard time with any exercise, not to mention just walking! Do you think Pilates, (like in your previous post), would be beneficial for somebody like me?? I would love to be able to get back to pre 4 baby weight lol!!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I subscribed and followed, and i can’t wait to read more posts!!

  2. i like where you are heading with this topic – unfortunately, enough people in society have lost control of their bodies/ weight and rely on gimick-y brands and products to make attempts at bettering their lifestyles. society is a monster – everything we buy off the shelves at the grocery and liquor stores are surveys that tell companies what to continue to manufacture. we are our own worst enemies!

    on a side note – i will say that i do enjoy skinny girl margaritas! they are tasty and lack the monstrous calories that a regular margarita contains. this is not part any dieting regiment, but more of acknowledging what i am putting in my body. i even bought a bottle for my dad (a type 2 diabetic who has had to completely change what he eats and drinks) and renamed it “manly man margarita” with a piece of duct tape!

    • LOL! I’m glad to get someone’s honest opinion on this drink. That’s very funny that you bought your dad a bottle! Good selling point, you should send that story to Bethany! 🙂

Leave a Reply

