Am I a morning person???

“I’d like mornings better if they started later.” -unknown

My motto used to be ” I do more before 2 a.m. then most people do all day”. I notoriously cannot stand mornings. My husband will attest to that being that I’ve cursed at him on many occasion to be quiet so I can get a few more minutes of sleep before the kids wake up. But I’ve noticed a bit of a shift lately. My infant has been waking me up at 5 a.m. and to be honest, I don’t really mind. I feed and change him then put him back to sleep. My other son will hopefully sleep another few hours and I can get things done without interruption, it’s great. However, it’s not so great come the afternoon when it catches up to me and I need a nap. This had me wondering, am I a morning person? And is it built into our genes whether we are morning vs. night people?

I looked into it and found this article on BBC.com, Why some of us are early risers. It says that “Researchers at the University of Surrey say they have found a link between people’s preference for mornings or evenings and a gene called Period 3…There are extreme morning people and extreme evening people and it seems that behaviour has a genetic basis to it.”

So there is some sort of scientific explanation for our preferences of night vs. day. But, I can still be very productive at night. I’ve always considered myself a night person. I usually get a second wind around 10pm and am able to get a lot done I couldn’t during the day. I think there are a few reasons for this. In part because I have children and this is the time they’re in bed and I can actually focus on something other than them. But, I was like this even before my kids. I think for me it comes down to really enjoying the peace and quiet of both the night-time and the early morning hours. I get more done because there are fewer distractions and there’s something very calming about it. Most people are in bed, the streets are quiet, the world is at rest. I can finally focus on my task. The problem is that the middle of the day comes and I still need to focus and get things done but am I’m exhausted!

If you have a similar problem, here are a few tips for staying alert throughout the day:

1) Take a multi vitamin. I’ve recently discovered Alive. They make one specific for women and I actually have noticed a bit of a difference in my energy levels since I started taking it.

2) Drink plenty of water. Water with lemon specifically is particularly invigorating.

3) Eating less more often. I find that when I eat fewer meals I tend to binge and then feel tired and bloated afterward.  Make sure to make healthy choices like fruits and vegetables, yogurt, a turkey sandwich on whole wheat bread (turkey is one of the only non processed deli meats) etc.

4) Stay active! The minute I hit the couch I’m done for. Try to stay active throughout the day to avoid becoming a couch potato.

5) Avoid drinking too much coffee. I LOVE my coffee but I do notice that when I drink too much of it a few things happen, I’m more anxious and funnily enough, more tired. I read recently that having too much caffeine in your system can have the opposite effect of its intent, it will make you tired. The reason being that your body is being overworked by the amount of caffeine its processing.

If you’re really in need of some rest schedule some quiet time with the kids. If your kids still nap that’s great, perfect time for you to do the same or just relax. My 3-year-old doesn’t, so we have “quiet time” on the couch. He watches a show and I can relax. It’s hard to get off the couch when it’s over, but I do feel a bit more energized afterward.

I guess the answer to my question about whether I’m a morning person or not is… I just want some peace and quiet!!!

Do you consider yourself a morning or night person? Do you have any tips to stay energized throughout the day?

One thought on “Am I a morning person???

Leave a Reply

