Confessions of a Junk Food Junkie

I have never had a great diet regimen. In college I remember working with my sister one summer and running out for a “snack”. I came back with a latte and a Suzie Q. I think her exact words were “you eat like sh-t”. Then there was the time my parents went away for two weeks and I ate Tostitos with con queso dip for dinner every night. And when I was actually at school my diet was even worse, consisting of meals from the dining hall full of preservatives and late night snacks of french fries and chicken fingers.

I didn’t realize back then how unhealthy “snacks” were affecting the way I felt. They probably didn’t have as strong of an impact on me as they do now, but when I’m eating a lot of sweets and processed foods I feel tired and irritable. My thought back then was that I could eat whatever I wanted, just not a whole lot of it if I wanted to stay slim. And I did manage to stay slim, I’ve always worked out and was never an over eater, but I probably would have felt a hell of a lot better if I paid more attention to creating healthy eating habits. I realize that now, since aesthetics aren’t tantamount and I struggle to stay up beat, energized and on task with my kids.  I certainly notice more and more how the things I ingest have a tremendous impact on my energy level, mood and focus, just to name a few.

I’ve gotten better over the years but still struggle to eat properly because of my love for junk food. I really need to cut down on  things like potato chips and candy, but the cravings are hard to curb! Besides, they are such a quick and easy fix!

Here are a few ideas for quick, easy, healthy snacks that I’ve found to help diminish the amount of unhealthy food I eat:

Yogurt

Fage is a great choice for nutritional value. I prefer the taste of Chobani but Fage has less sugar and calories.

“FAGE Total Strained Greek Yogurt is an extraordinary source of nutrition. Made from an authentic recipe that dates back to 1926 and using 100% natural ingredients, it contains no added sweeteners, thickeners or preservatives and no powdered milk, powdered cream or powdered protein.”

Guacamole

Avocados are one of the best foods you can eat, they are packed with nutrition and guacamole is probably the most delicious way to enjoy them. Good news is Wholly Guacamole makes 100 cal snack pack. These are great with multi-grain tortilla chips.

Snack Bars

These are a classic choice as a quick on the go grab. But you need to choose wisely as they can be loaded with sugars and preservatives.   Kashi is a great option and I recently discovered the brand Pure, founded by a woman named Veronica Boosgraaf (I love to support women entrepeneurs!). She created this bar with ” No refined sugars, no chemicals, no genetically-modified stuff. We wanted ingredients rich in antioxidants, vitamins, and omega-3 fats. Most importantly, it had to taste amazing.”

And of course, fruits and vegetables are the best snacks for you. Bananas and apples are my son and my favorites. We also keep a bag of baby carrots in the house. I just need to force myself to eat a banana more often instead of a candy bar. 🙂

What are your favorite nutritious snacks?

One thought on “Confessions of a Junk Food Junkie

  1. Sam’s Club had a variety box of 100 calorie snacks which includes Smartfood popcorn, Cheetos, and Sun Chips. Portion control is good for me.

Leave a Reply

