Today is going to be a great day!

This mornings mantra: “Today is going to be a great day!”

I try to meditate every day at least once. I usually do it before bed time, which is a great way to relax. But it’s also a really good idea to do right when you wake up. I don’t know about you, but sometime the negative thoughts start to come in my head even before I get out of bed. I think about all of the things I have to get done and instantly feel overwhelmed.

There is an article in last month’s Yoga Journal about how starting a morning meditation routine can “soothe your emotions, stave off stress and help create the life of your dreams!” Part of this practice is to set an intention. The purpose of an intention is to stay in touch with the “core values with which you want to live by as you pursue your life’s goals and engage with others.” This is very important for me as I want to be the best person I can be for my children each and everyday. I want to be positive, loving, patient and kind…

This is not always easy as the stresses of daily life tend to get in the way at some point and I lapse in my purpose of trying to be the kind and patient person that I want to be. But, perhaps if I start with a clean slate by meditating for at least 5 or 10 minutes each morning and repeating a positive mantra, it will help me glide through my day with more ease and satisfaction.

 

Leave a Reply

