Sunless Tanning

I’ve had a few people in my life recently who have had cancerous moles removed, and just yesterday my mom told me she did. It was in a very obscure location, on her head underneath her hair. Luckily her hairdresser noticed it and she got it checked. She had it removed and she should be ok, thank goodness! This really surprised and scared me since she doesn’t spend much time in the sun.

Having heard of several similar cases is concerning. I decided to do a little research on the subject. According to a study done by researchers at the Mayo Clinic, skin cancer percentages are on the rise. Skin cancer rates, specifically melanoma, among young women are about 8 times higher from what they were 40 years ago. These numbers aren’t as high for men probably because most men don’t worship  the sun like women.

These increasing numbers have a lot to do with our diminishing ozone layer, so please make sure to wear sunblock with an SPF of 30 or higher and repeat application every 2 hours if you are spending the whole day outside. This is especially true for children as they don’t tend to spend anytime in the shade.

Sunless Tanning

There’s no need to get that not so healthy glow from the sun now that there are so many products on the market that work great to give you that same effect. Here are a few that I’ve tried…

Fake Bake.

This is what we all used to call it when we “hit the beds,” meaning tanning beds. But now it’s a skin care product that gives you the look of a tan without actually having to subject yourself to the ultra-violent radiation of the sun or a tanning bed.

I bought this a few months ago after I got a spray tan. Spray tans can look amazing if you go to the right place, but are expensive. This product works awesome! It has a smooth glove for application and goes on without streaking. At first I thought maybe I was crazy, I’ve tried several different products that are intended to do the same thing and they always end up coming out blotchy, streaky and not absorbing into my skin fully. But, the other day I was telling my aunt how great she looked and she told me her secret “Fake Bake!” She was thrilled, she loves it and it looked fantastic. I was glad to see that it actually did look natural on someone else.

Other products that work great are lotions that create a gradual tan after just a few uses. I’ve been using  L’Oreal Sublime Glow recently and have gotten a few compliments on my tan. Not bad for $10 a bottle! I also noticed my mom had nice tan too, I was surprised as she doesn’t spend a lot of time in the sun. She told me she was using Jergens Natural Glow .

Hopefully products like these will keep more people out of the sun. Our lives and skin depend on it!

What are your tricks to getting that healthy summer glow?

Leave a Reply

