Insomnia

 

It’s 3:30 am, how is it that my newborn is asleep and I’m WIDE awake. This happens to me often, my stressful thoughts and anxieties wake me in the middle of the night and I can’t go back to sleep. And when I finally do my 2 month old wakes me up to be fed and my 3-year-old roles in “sun’s out! let’s play!” … ugh! How am I gonna get through this day?!

Here are a few tips on how to get back to sleep during those restless nights:

1) Don’t “try” to go back to sleep. Instead attempt to calm your body and mind by taking deeps breaths and thinking about every area of your body relaxing. Maybe do a little meditation to free your mind of stressful thoughts.

2) Make sure the temperature is comfortable, a common cause of waking during the night is a dramatic shift in body temperature. Make sure it’s not to hot or cold, put on more covers or turn on a fan, do what you need to ensure comfortability.

3) The reason I usually wake up is because of my worries, they wake me in the night and then I lie there trying to solve them and feeling frustrated that there’s nothing I can do about them because…it’s 3 am for crying out loud! I read something interesting on the Uncommonhelp web site, it stated that since worrying is a brain function to help us solve problems we should try to “trick” our brains into thinking it has found a solution by whatever means. This will help us relax and go back to sleep. This sounds like a long shot as I don’t think I’ll be able to trick myself, but I’m willing to give it a try.

4) Don’t turn the lights on! Oopsies, I already did that.

5) If you can’t fall back asleep within 15 minutes get up and do something “boring” according to Health.com, for example read something of no interest to you. Don’t turn on the TV or computer. Oops! I did both of those things tonight, I guess my attempts to go back to sleep are no good. Hopefully next time I will be more prepared and not make the same mistakes.

Until next time… hopefully not at 3am again!

xo,

Hil

4 thoughts on “Insomnia

  1. I went through a really bad period of insomnia. It started when I was 5 months pregnant with my 3rd child. It lasted up until I gave birth. After that I was up most nights because of the baby. After she slept through the night at around 5-6 months, I started waking up again, about 2-3 times per week. I finally went to see a naturopath and she gave me some supplements to regualate my sleep cycle. It really helped, it took about 2 weeks for it to work, I have been fine since.

    • Thanks for sharing your story! I have always been a bad sleeper and it has gotten much worse since I had my kids. I have never heard of a “naturopath”, I’m going to look into it and see one asap! 🙂

Leave a Reply

