One a day?

I haven’t had a drink since my son George turned one, he’s three now. I started drinking when I was a teenager. I always loved a good party! I drank pretty regularly through my twenties until I discovered I was pregnant. I quit during my pregnancy and boy did it feel good! I didn’t realize how much drinking had affected me  mentally, physically and emotionally until I stopped all together. I felt great! I was more relaxed, alert, mindful and productive. I continued drinking after I had my first son. Then I started to really feel it’s negative affects and decided to stop all together.

Many people don’t realize it, but just because you’re not “hung over” doesn’t mean you’re unaffected by your alcohol consumption. Drinking causes anxiety, depression, fatigue and decreases your overall mental comprehension and motor skills.

They say that one drink a day is ok, and even beneficial for your health as long as you have a proper diet and exercise regimen to go along with it. However, how many of us actually drink one? My bet is not too many. But, I’m a classic binger so I shouldn’t project my own faults onto others. I’m not able to do much in moderation so I try to stick to healthy habits to avoid the danger of overdoing anything unhealthy. For example, I love sweets (who doesn’t?!) but if I have one chocolate I want 5, so I’m better off just not having any. On the flip side, I love to workout and try to do some physical activity everyday. I would workout multiple times a day if I had the time.

Here are the guidelines for what one drink actually means:

  • Beer: 12 fluid ounces (355 milliliters)
  • Wine: 5 fluid ounces (148 milliliters)
  • Distilled spirits (80 proof): 1.5 fluid ounces (44 milliliters)

If you’re able to stay in these confines go for it. I however have chosen a sober lifestyle and am very proud of myself for sticking to it the past two years. Being a mom,or just being human in general, it can prove to be very tough to stay sober. If you’re having trouble please don’t be ashamed! Many people struggle with this addiction. I reached out when I quit and it helped me immensely, I couldn’t have done it on my own. Please reach out for help if you’re struggling. You’ll be glad that you did!

This is a great blog by Stefanie Wilder-Taylor, mother and author of  “Sippy Cups Aren’t for Chardonnay” (love the title!). It really helped me when I stopped drinking perhaps it’ll help you:

Don’t Get Drunk Fridays

xo,

Hil

Leave a Reply

