Reclaiming my pre-baby body…

I
I don’t know about you, but when I’m pregnant I feel like my body is not my own. It’s a vessel for the little baby growing inside. Everything I do is to nurture the growth of the fetus. I try to workout as much as I can but fatigue sets in and I find I can’t work out as much as I’d like, I try to eat well but am victim to massive hunger and cravings. Now that my baby is 6 weeks old and I’m feeling more energized I’m ready to reclaim my body.
I gained 35 pounds this pregnancy, a little better than my first where I gained 45. I weighed myself at the gym yesterday and have 15 pounds to lose. With summer upon us I want to get started as soon as possible! Not that I ‘m planning on wearing a bikini, but I’d like to at least feel comfortable walking around in my one piece and not be hiding under a sarong or pair of shorts.
After week one of postnatal recovery I started walking as much as was comfortable for me. I wanted to start getting back into shape as soon as I could and even just a little walking helps get the process started. It is ok to walk and do things like push ups after the first week. If you decide to do this please be careful not to overdo it as that will make the postnatal healing process take even longer. The first month I was just walking, 1 mile, 2 miles… what ever felt comfortable. Now that it’s been over a month I’ve started jogging. I ran 1.5 miles last Thursday and did 2 miles on Saturday.
It’s a little frustrating trying to get back to where I was fitness wise pre-baby, but it’s also exciting.  love challenges and there is an appeal about starting from a much lower fitness level then I’m used to and working my way back up. It’s interesting to see the progress. It’s also helpful because it gives me a better understanding of the clients I work with that do not work out as much as I do on a regular basis and come to me for help getting in shape. I realize how hard it is for them to start from scratch, not that I’ll go any easier on them but I’ll be a little more sympathetic.
That’s all for today, stay tuned for ideas on how to find time to workout with kids and post pregnancy diet advice.
xo,
Hilary

Leave a Reply

