Pregnant and Feeling Beautiful

I was only 12 years old, but remember when Demi Moore posed on the cover of Vanity Fair back in 1991 and the controversy it caused. It was quite shocking that she was not only nude but pregnant. Many people thought it to be inappropriate and distasteful. But, it turned out to be the beginning of a new trend, women actually feeling beautiful and sexy while being pregnant instead of feeling as though they need to hide themselves for nine months under moo moos until the birth of their child. Since that iconic photo there have been a myriad of celebrities who have tried to mimic that same image, and it has become popular for women in general to have maternity photos taken that show off their pregnant bellies.

This last pregnancy, being what I think will be my final one, I wanted to get some photos done myself. I used to think that being pregnant was sort of alien, but when I had my first child I experienced the beauty of it. I loved my pregnant belly and the fact that I didn’t have to suck it in. The bigger the better! And people look at you like you’re doing something really special, which you are! It’s quite a sacrifice having your body taken over for what they say is nine months but is in actuality ten.

I know you may not feel so beautiful with the weight gain, fatigue, nausea and many other negative physical conditions that take place during pregnancy, but I do hope that you are able to appreciate the beauty of your growing belly and the celebration of women hood that your body signifies during the special time.

Shout out to Kate Kaufman of Kaufman Photography (great photographer and fellow momtrepreneur) for the wonderful job she did on my pictures… thanks Kate I will treasure these!

2 thoughts on “Pregnant and Feeling Beautiful

Leave a Reply

