K.I.S.S.: Creating a Clutter Free Environment

My husband has joked that I have “hoarding tendencies”. Which is absolutely NOT true, I just have trouble getting around to donating, selling or throwing things away. Which is detrimental to the organization and cleanliness of certain areas of my house. Now that I am “nesting”, a.k.a. a pregnant woman’s instinct that this baby is coming any day now and they need to get their life in order, I have been more focused on ways to create a more organized, functional and clutter free environment in my house.

I’ve been reading more articles with tips to declutter and have discovered a few things that will help me keep clean and organized. #1)Choose one room in your house to work on at a time. Do not overwhelm yourself by trying to do it all at once. 2) Allocate a certain amount of time each day to de-cluttering, in Zenhabits.net it says that even just 8 minutes of decluttering a day will make a huge difference. 3) Stop shopping! I tend to forget about what I have and by the same thing over again therefore adding to my clutter content. So, an interesting situation that occurs when you start organizing and keeping track of what you have at home is that you spend less money. 4) Start a neighborhood Facebook page where as you and your friends can sell or free-cycle items in your house that you no longer need. My neighbor just recently added me to one in our neighborhood and it’s a great tool to get rid of things. The people are all friends of friends and live close by so it’s easy for them to pick up stuff.

I’m still in the process of getting organized and decluttering but I’ve found that so far it is very liberating. Getting rid of excess clothes in my closet for example helps me take less time in the morning getting ready, fewer options creates an environment that is more conducive to making quicker decisions and makes it easier to find things.

Read more motivational tips on how to get organized and declutter in this article from Zenhabits.netClutterfree Inspiration and please send me your tips on how you keep organized and clutter free.

Until next time, thanks for reading…

One thought on “K.I.S.S.: Creating a Clutter Free Environment

Leave a Reply

