K.I.S.S.: Keep it Simple Stupid

I think it was in a marketing class that I learned the acronym KISS, which stands for “keep it simple stupid”. The principle meaning that if you keep things simple people are more likely to understand and remain engaged. I’m focusing on this phrase in an attempt to make my life a little simpler. I have a tendency to over complicate things in every way. Our society overloads us with options and possibilities. Which is a wonderful luxury but at times can be very overwhelming!  Take the internet for example, there are dozens of social networking programs to choose from: Facebook, LinkedIn, MySpace, Google +, twitter, Stumble Upon, Pinterest, Digg… how does someone keep track of them all! And this morning I was thinking about setting up different email addresses so my main inbox isn’t overloaded with spam from all of these different sites. It makes me want to give up on social media all together and throw my computer out the window!

I’ve decided to dedicate some time and a few blog articles to thinking and sharing different ways of making our lives less complicated. This week I’m thinking about how I can unclutter my kitchen and organize my meals better. This is a great way to not only simplify the cooking and cleaning process but also to make it easier for my family and I to eat healthier. When we’re not organized and unsure of our meals for the week we tend to grab whatever is easiest to prepare in the kitchen and not necessarily healthiest, or worse, order unhealthy take out. A couple of tips that are pretty obvious, but I rarely do, are making a shopping list and creating a dinner menu for the week. One big pet peeve of mine are recipes with way too many ingredients. This results in my buying ingredients that sit in my pantry and never get used again. For this reason I’ve done a little research into recipes that are healthy and simple. Take these examples from none other than “Real Simple” magazine. There’s 30 to choose from which contradicts my attempt to cut down on options but all of them are healthy meals with minimal ingredients. My plan is to go through and find the ones that look most appetizing for me and my family and have similar ingredients so I’m not buying too many different components.

Here are this weeks picks:

1) Scallops with Sweet Cucumber and Mango Salsa

2) Spiced Chicken with Cous Cous

3) Glazed pork Tenderloin

4) Salmon & Watercress Salad

5) Whole Grain Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

There are only 5 here as I assume we’ll eat left overs the other 2 nights.

Here’s the shopping list:

Protein: Scallops, Salmon, Chicken Breast, Pork Tenderloin

Produce: 2 Mangos, 2 Cucumbers, Ginger, 2 Limes, 2 Lemons, Cilantro, 2 bunches Watercress, Dill, Cherry Tomatoes, Snap Peas, Beefsteak Tomatoes, Basil, 1 Chipotle Pepper, 1 Jicama, 1 pineapple and 1 Red Bell Pepper

Other: Cider Vinegar, Sour Cream, Horseradish

Ingredients already in my kitchen: Brown Rice, Cous Cous, Whole Wheat Pasta, Ketchup, Paprika, Salt & Pepper, Olive Oil, Garlic, Parmesan Cheese

Thanks for reading and please send me any ideas you have for keeping things simple in the kitchen.

One thought on “K.I.S.S.: Keep it Simple Stupid

  1. I like the way you think and I like your menu. I would eliminate the fresh pineapple and go for the canned. It would cut down on preparation. I always keep cous cous in my pantry too. It it so quick and easy to prepare and very nutritious.

Leave a Reply

