Fun Outdoor Activities with the Kids

I love the summer time! I especially love that I am able to get outside with the kids. But sometimes I want to do more than just go to the playground or the beach. Here are a few ideas on outdoor activities that will both entertain and educate your kids:

- Gardening. 

I do not have a green thumb, but my husband does. He loves to garden and has been really great about taking my son out and showing him how to plant and water. My son loves it and it’s a great way to teach him gardening skills and about different types of plants. They’ve grown tomatoes, rosemary, basil, even lettuce!

My son Georgie harvesting his crops

- Car Wash.

I wrote about this a few weeks ago, great way to get outside, teach kids responsibility and burn calories (up to 400 in an hour!).

- Bake Sale or Lemonade Stand.

My sister, brother and I were quite the entrepreneurs when we were younger. We would set up shop in front of our house and have bake sales, lemonade sales, yard sales, we even made t-shirts to sell. This is a great way to teach children the value of a dollar as it’s not as easy to sell something as they might think. I remember standing outside all day long and being frustrated at the lack of customers. But, at the same time, we were elated when we would make a sale! Most of our profits came from family or friends, or sometimes passers-by who thought what we were doing was cute.

Me, my brother, sister and good childhood friend Paula, pushing baked goods and lemonade on our block in Brooklyn

I’ve been looking for some more activities that we can do outdoors and found this great blog with so many fun and educational activities for the kids: No Time for Flashcards, 50 Simple Outside Activities.

What’s your favorite thing to do outside with the kids? Do you have any unique activities you can recommend?

2 thoughts on “Fun Outdoor Activities with the Kids

  1. Hi, I enjoyed reading your post. You shared some really creative ideas here. Outdoor activities are essential for kids and it\’s parents responsibility to provide them enough opportunities. I especially love the idea of car wash as my kids love water and they will surely be enjoying this, and certainly we all would have some real fun out of this activity.

    Bookmarked your blog and will be coming back often to check your valuable updates. Keep up the good work:)

Leave a Reply

